Bad or Good Translation: How to make the difference?

Bad or Good Translation: How to make the difference?

 

Translation is the transportation of a written text from one language (Source language) into another language (target language); it must take into account constraints that include context, the rules of grammar of the two languages, their writing conventions, and their idioms, which can sometimes lead translators to produce bad or inadequate translations, 

hence, what makes a “good” or “bad” translation?

     

A good translation

 

  • Sounds like it was written initially in the target language: a high-quality translation should sound, when read, as if it were written in the language that the text is being translated into.
  • Takes context into consideration: context is the surroundings, circumstances, environment, background or settings that determine, specify, or clarify the meaning of a word, sentence, or paragraph. Communicative Translation is a good example for that; as it attempts to render the exact contextual meaning of the original in such a way that both language and content are readily acceptable and comprehensible to the readership, therefore; it is essential for the translator to get familiar with the context of the text before starting the translation process.
  • Takes grammatical differences between languages into account: The English language has the largest vocabulary of any language, it shares cognates with most other languages, such as French, but a significant number of these are “false friends”. For example, the word “actually” means really in English. In French “actuellement” has a different meaning; which is “at present”. Another example of false friends would be “notice” in French, which means “ note or instruction”, and “notice” in English, which means “the period of time that you must work after you have said that you are leaving your job, or after you have been asked to leave.”

 

A bad translation

 

  • Fails to convey the full meaning: A common misconception is that there exists a simple word-for-word correspondence between any two languages, and that translation is a straightforward mechanical process, however, the order of words varies from one language to another. For example; sentence structure in English is (Subject + Verb +Object), whereas, in Arabic it is (Verb + Subject + Object).

If we take the sentence, “The student studies law

  • Word-for-word-translation "الطالب يدرس القانون" (Subject + Verb + Object)
  • Correct translation : "يدرس الطالب القانون" (Verb + Subject + Object)

Therefore, word-for-word translation does not take into account context, grammar, idioms, and conventions of the target language.

  • Does not take the purpose into account: if we take a website translation for example, the original “French version” says “ Rendez-vous sur: legal-slate.com ” a simple translation might be “ Go to: legal-slate.com ”, but thinking of the business and marketing context, a good translation would be more like “ Learn more at: legal-slate.com ”.

In a nutshell, one must always take context, conventions, and the difference of sentence structures between languages in order to achieve a flawless translation.

Share the article

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
English
Français العربية English
Open chat
1
Good Morning,

Can I help you?
Powered by

Faire la distinction entre les bonnes et mauvaises traductions

Faire la distinction entre les bonnes et mauvaises traductions

 

La traduction est l’énoncé d’un texte écrit d’une langue (langue source) vers une autre langue (langue cible). Elle doit tenir compte des contraintes imposées par le contexte, les règles de grammaire des deux langues, leurs conventions d’écriture et leurs idiomes. Cela peut parfois amener les traducteurs à produire des traductions mauvaises ou inadéquates. 

Qu’est-ce qui fait une « bonne » ou une « mauvaise » traduction ?

     

Une bonne traduction

 

  • Semble avoir été écrite initialement dans la langue cible : une traduction de qualité doit avoir l’air, à la lecture, d’avoir été écrite dans la langue dans laquelle le texte est traduit.
  • Prend le contexte en considération : le contexte correspond à l’environnement, aux circonstances, au milieu, à la situation ou au lieu qui déterminent, précisent ou clarifient le sens d’un mot, d’une phrase ou d’un paragraphe. La traduction communicative en est un bon exemple ; elle tente de rendre le sens contextuel exact de l’original de telle sorte que la langue et le contenu soient facilement compréhensibles pour le lecteur. Il est donc essentiel que le traducteur se familiarise avec le contexte du texte avant de commencer le processus de traduction.
  • Tient compte des différences grammaticales entre les langues : la langue anglaise possède le plus grand vocabulaire de toutes les langues, elle partage des mots apparentés avec la plupart des autres langues, comme le français, mais beaucoup d’entre elles sont de « faux amis ». Par exemple, le mot « actually » signifie « vraiment » en anglais. En français, « actuellement » a un sens différent, qui est « at present » en anglais. Un autre exemple de faux amis serait « notice » en français, qui signifie « note ou instruction », et « notice » en anglais, qui signifie « la période pendant laquelle il faut travailler après avoir déclaré qu’on quitte son emploi, ou après qu’on demande de le quitter ».

 

Une mauvaise traduction

 

  • Ne transmet pas le sens complet : on pense souvent qu’il existe une simple correspondance mot à mot entre deux langues, et que la traduction est un processus mécanique simple. Cependant, l’ordre des mots varie d’une langue à l’autre. Par exemple, la structure de la phrase en anglais est (Sujet + Verbe + Complément), alors qu’en arabe, elle est (Verbe + Sujet + Complément).

Si l’on prend la phrase « The student studies law »

  • Traduction mot à mot : « الطالب يدرس القانون » (Sujet + Verbe + Complément)
  • Traduction correcte : « يدرس الطالب القانون » (Verbe + Sujet + Complément)

De ce fait, la traduction mot à mot ne tient pas compte du contexte, de la grammaire, des idiomes et des conventions de la langue cible.

  • Ne tient pas compte de l’objectif : si l’on prend par exemple la traduction d’un site Web, la version originale « française » dit « Rendez-vous sur : legal-slate.com » ; une simple traduction pourrait être « Go to: legal-slate.com », mais, en pensant au contexte commercial et marketing, une bonne traduction serait plutôt « Learn more at: legal-slate.com ».

Il faut donc toujours tenir compte du contexte, des conventions et des différences de structures de phrases entre les langues pour obtenir une traduction irréprochable.

Partager l'article

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email
Français
English العربية Français
Open chat
1
Bonjour,

Est-ce que je peux vous aider ?
Powered by