The best digital spell checking tools

The best digital spell checking tools

It's a fact: we spend most of our time writing on computers, smartphones or other tablets, and the use of the pen is increasingly devoted to the sole necessity of signing a document. At the same time, everyone agrees that typos, tuning errors, spelling or grammar problems are not lost on anyone, even after careful proofreading.

Unfortunately, these inaccuracies have negative effects. They degrade the quality of the text and damage the reputation of a website, service or else. For this reason, proofreading and correcting a text remains a laborious and delicate task, and a minor assistance seems to be necessary. 

Today, the use of digital tools is spreading more and more for all tasks. Online spell checking softwares, although not 100% reliable, they simplify the checking process greatly and help to reduce the number of writing errors. Several of them are available online. In this list, we present 5 of the most reputable and used ones by netizens.

1. Scribens

It is a free online spell checker known for its simplicity of use. It allows to correct one's text after a simple copy and paste in the interface. It identifies spelling, grammar, typography, and syntax errors. 

A pop-up opens to suggest the correct the word for you, but also to redirect you to the corresponding spelling ruler.

The biggest advantage of Scribens is that it can correct your texts in French as well as in English.

Moreover, and like most spell checkers, the automatic correction may not detect certain grammar or tuning errors. It may miss grammatical errors on certain words, or even syntax errors.

2. Bonpatron

It is another free, efficient, reliable and easy-to-use online spell checking software. It explains each mistake by giving concrete examples, with the availability of a small summary of the mistakes with a reminder of the spelling rules just below the box where you insert your text. 

It is efficient, but can also be less advantageous. You can only paste 2000 characters at a time, or about 250 words, which is relatively few and requires you to do it in several times. 

There is a reason for this restriction. Bonpatron is available as a paid version for a one-year subscription for only 12 euros. By purchasing it, you will be able to paste a larger amount of text.

3. Antidote

Although it is reputed to be one of the best spell checking softwares on the market, its use is subject to a fee (about a hundred euros).

It is available for life from the moment of purchase, with a unique download code to be used once on a single computer.

Its interface is simple to use and it also detects typographical and stylistic errors, highlights spelling mistakes and advises on the correction to be made.

Some options are even more advanced. Antidote detects awkward sentence turns, repetitions and the use of colloquial vocabulary.

4. LanguageTool

This is another spell checker that has the advantage that it can be installed as an extension for the Firefox browser. It is very simple to use. Its interface is basic, you just need to copy and paste your text to access the correction. 

LanguageTool offers a free version (up to 20,000 characters), which is quite substantial, and a premium version (up to 40,000 characters) for 59 euros per year. 

There is also a very practical option if you have texts in other languages. The software not only corrects French, but also German, English, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Polish and even Spanish.

5. Reverso

Although in general it is a little less reliable than its alternatives, Reverso is one of the best known online translation tools, as it is ranked in the top positions of the Google search engine. It has a very clear interface. A copy and paste of your text in the window allows you to access a correction.

Reverso alerts you to spelling mistakes and, to a lesser extent, grammar errors. Its Google Chrome extension allows you to use it directly when you write an email or a Facebook post, which is very practical.

Reverso corrects your texts in French and English. However, your text is limited to 2000 words only.

Conclusion

While the use of spell checking tools is practical, effective and appropriate, it is not enough. They are very advantageous, but they are not infallible. Online spell checkers are functional, but not all of them go far enough. Nevertheless, they are already very useful when you need proofreading or correction and you don't necessarily have the budget to invest in paid software.

The ideal solution is to use a professional proofreader whose job it is to track down the slightest syntax, lexical or grammatical error.


Share the article

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
English
Français العربية English
Open chat
1
Good Morning,

Can I help you?
Powered by

Les meilleurs outils numériques de correction orthographique

Les meilleurs outils numériques de correction orthographique

C’est un fait : on passe la plupart de notre temps à écrire sur les ordinateurs, smartphones ou autres tablettes et l’emploi du stylo est de plus en plus consacré à la seule nécessité de signer un document. Dans le même temps, tout le monde s’accorde à dire que les fautes de frappe, les erreurs d’accord, les problèmes d’orthographe ou de grammaire n’échappent à personne, même après une relecture attentive.

Ces inexactitudes ont malheureusement des effets négatifs. Elles dégradent la qualité du texte et nuisent à la réputation d’un site, service ou autre. Pour cela, relire et corriger un texte reste une tâche laborieuse et délicate, et une petite assistance semble donc nécessaire. 

Aujourd’hui, l’utilisation d’outils numériques est de plus en plus répandue pour toutes les tâches. Les logiciels de correction orthographique en ligne, à défaut d’être fiables à 100 %, simplifient grandement le travail de vérification et aident à commettre moins d’erreurs dans les rédactions.Il en existe plusieurs sur le Web. Dans cette liste, nous vous en présentons 5 parmi les plus réputés et les plus utilisés par les internautes.

1 Scribens

C’est un correcteur orthographique gratuit en ligne connu pour sa simplicité d’utilisation. Il permet de corriger son texte après un simple copier-coller dans l’interface. Il identifie les fautes d’orthographe, de grammaire, de typographie et de syntaxe. 

Une petite bulle s’ouvre pour vous proposer de corriger le mot, mais aussi pour vous rediriger vers la règle d’orthographe correspondante.

Le plus grand avantage de Scribens, c’est qu’il peut corriger vos textes aussi bien en français qu’en anglais.

Par ailleurs, et comme la majorité des correcteurs, il arrive que la correction automatique ne relève pas certaines fautes de grammaire ou d’accord. Il peut laisser passer les fautes grammaticales sur certains mots, ou encore les erreurs de syntaxe.

2 Bonpatron

C’est un autre logiciel de vérification orthographique en ligne gratuit, efficace, fiable et très simple d’utilisation. Il explique chaque faute en donnant des exemples concrets, avec la disponibilité d’un petit résumé des fautes avec rappel des règles d’orthographe juste sous la zone où vous insérez votre texte. 

Il est performant, mais peut être aussi moins avantageux. On ne peut coller que 2000 caractères à la fois, soit environ 250 mots, ce qui est relativement peu et qui vous oblige à procéder en plusieurs fois. 

Cette restriction n’est pas posée sans raison. Bonpatron est disponible en version payante pour un abonnement d’un an pour 12 euros seulement. En l’achetant, vous pourrez coller une quantité de texte plus importante.

3 Antidote

Bien qu’il soit réputé pour être l’un des meilleurs logiciels de correction orthographique sur le marché, son utilisation est payante (une centaine d’euros).

Il est disponible à vie dès son achat, avec un code de téléchargement unique à utiliser une seule fois sur un seul ordinateur.

Son interface est simple d’utilisation et il décèle également les fautes de typographie et de style, souligne les fautes d’orthographe et conseille sur la correction à faire.

Certaines options sont encore plus poussées. Antidote repère les tournures de phrases maladroites, les répétitions et l’emploi de vocabulaire familier.

4 LanguageTool

C’est un autre logiciel de correction orthographique qui a l’avantage de pouvoir être installé en tant qu’extension pour le navigateur Firefox. Il est très simple à prendre en main. Son interface est basique, il vous suffit de faire un copier-coller de votre texte pour accéder à la correction. 

LanguageTool propose une version gratuite (jusqu’à 20 000 caractères) ce qui est tout de même conséquent, et une version premium (jusqu’à 40 000 caractères) pour 59 euros par an. 

Il existe aussi une option très pratique si vous avez des textes dans d’autres langues. Le logiciel ne corrige pas que le français, mais aussi l’allemand, l’anglais, l’italien, le japonais, le russe, le polonais, et même l’espagnol.

5 Reverso

Bien qu’il s’avère dans l’ensemble un peu moins fiable que ses alternatives, Reverso fait partie des outils de traduction en ligne les plus connus, car il est proposé dans les premières positions du moteur de recherche Google. Il dispose d’une interface très claire. Un copier-coller de votre texte dans la fenêtre vous permet d’accéder à une correction.

Reverso vous signale les fautes d’orthographe et, dans une moindre mesure, les fautes de grammaire. Son extension Google Chrome permet de l’utiliser directement lorsque vous écrivez un e-mail ou encore un post Facebook, ce qui est très pratique.

Reverso corrige vos textes en français et en anglais. En revanche, votre texte est limité à 2000 mots seulement.

Conclusion

Bien que l’utilisation des outils de correction orthographique soit pratique, efficace et convenable, elle ne suffit pas. Ces logiciels sont très avantageux, mais ne sont pas infaillibles. Les correcteurs en ligne sont fonctionnels, mais ne vont pas tous assez loin. Néanmoins, ils sont déjà très utiles quand on a besoin de relecture ou de correction et que l’on n’a pas forcément le budget pour investir dans un logiciel payant.

L’idéal reste de faire appel à un correcteur professionnel dont c’est la profession de traquer la moindre faute de syntaxe, de lexique ou de grammaire.


Partager l'article

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email
Français
English العربية Français
Open chat
1
Bonjour,

Est-ce que je peux vous aider ?
Powered by