Legal translation: do you have to be a lawyer to translate legal acts?

Legal translation: do you have to be a lawyer to translate legal acts? 

 

Legal translation is an exercise of undeniable complexity, and this idea is often found, implying that a lawyer's knowledge would be more relevant than that of a translator in carrying out this exercise.

To date, very few courses offer a dual course in translation and law, so there are two streams: one is in favour of "translators-lawyers", the other in favour of experienced translators, and the other in the middle are legal translators. 

 

What are the requirements for translating a legal document? 

 

Legal translation requires significant knowledge of both law and translation, so the reasoning of a translator will be different from that of a lawyer when the latter, in addition to understanding the terms to be translated, knows how to locate them legally in the same way (if the legislation allows it) or by equivalent through translation. 

 

Thus, if the objective of a translator is to produce identical content at the beginning and end of the translation process, the main purpose of the lawyer will be to transpose the rule recognised by the law of the original text to the legislation specific to the target text. 

For example, an act subject to Algerian law, written in Arabic, relating to the donation must be examined first with regard to Algerian law and then, in a second stage, transposed in accordance with the provisions of French law. 

Naturally, this implies a good legal culture in order to understand the implications of each provision of the act to be translated. 

 

When should a legal translator be used? 

 

Not all documents translated by you or your organisation require a high level of legal and translation expertise, but at the same time, it is essential to use a legal translator for the translation of certain legal acts, as the stakes involved can be very high. 

A legal translator ensures that your translation is correct and accurate, and that he or she carries out the tasks you entrust to him or her with diligence, so that urgent translations are carried out within the deadlines required by your particular situation. 

Share the article

Share on facebook
Share on whatsapp
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
English
Français العربية English
Open chat
1
Good Morning,

Can I help you?
Powered by

Traduction juridique : faut-il être juriste pour traduire des actes juridiques ?

Traduction juridique : faut-il être juriste pour traduire des actes juridiques ? 

 

La traduction juridique est un exercice qui présente une complexité certaine. On retrouve souvent cette idée, qui sous-entend que les connaissances d’un juriste seraient plus pertinentes que celles d’un traducteur dans le cadre de la réalisation de cet exercice.

A ce jour, très peu de formations offrent un double cursus en traduction et droit. Il y a donc deux courants. L’un partisan des “traducteurs-juristes”, le second privilégiant les traducteurs expérimentés. Au milieu, se trouvent les traducteurs juridiques. 

 

Quels sont les prérequis pour traduire un document juridique ? 

 

La traduction juridique requiert des connaissances importantes tant en droit qu’en traduction. Ainsi, le raisonnement d’un traducteur sera différent de celui d’un juriste dès lors que ce dernier, en plus de comprendre les termes à traduire, saura les situer juridiquement de manière identique (si la législation le permet) ou par équivalent à travers la traduction. 

 

Ainsi, si l’objectif d’un traducteur est de produire un contenu identique au début et à la fin du processus de traduction, le juriste quant à lui aura pour principal but de transposer la règle reconnue par le droit du texte originel à la législation propre au texte d’arrivée. 

A titre d’exemple, un acte soumis à la législation algérienne, rédigé en arabe, portant sur la donation doit être regardé en premier lieu au regard du droit algérien puis dans un second temps, transposé selon les dispositions prévues par le droit français. 

Naturellement, cela implique une bonne culture juridique afin de comprendre l’enjeu de chaque disposition de l’acte à traduire. 

 

Quand doit-on faire appel à un traducteur juridique ? 

 

Tous les documents traduits par vous ou votre structure ne nécessitent pas une maîtrise pointue en matière de droit et de traduction. Dans le même temps, faire appel à un traducteur juridique pour la traduction de certains actes juridiques est primordial. Les enjeux qui en découlent peuvent être très importants. 

Un traducteur juridique vous assure une traduction correcte et certaine. De plus, il exerce les missions que vous lui confiez avec diligence. En ce sens, les traductions urgentes seront réalisées dans les délais que votre situation particulière exige. 

Partager l'article

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email
Français
English العربية Français
Open chat
1
Bonjour,

Est-ce que je peux vous aider ?
Powered by